Executive Recruitment

Our Trust Board

Chairman and chief executive

Mrs Miriam Harte, chairman

Miriam joins us with a wealth of experience in the NHS having spent the last 12 years as a non-executive director. She was on the board at City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust for nine years and, most recently, was a non-executive director with Northumberland, Tyne and Wear NHS Foundation Trust. She is also a chartered accountant and has extensive business experience.

Brent Kilmurray, Chief Executive

Brent is currently Chief Executive of the Bradford District Care NHS Foundation Trust and will join TEWV as our new Chief Executive in July of this year.

Brent has been an NHS executive director since 2005, working in senior roles across a range of acute, community health and mental health NHS organisations.

His Board level experience includes joint Managing Director at NHS South of Tyne and Wear Community Health Services, Executive Director of Business Strategy and Performance for South Tyneside Foundation Trust, and Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Chief Executive for Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust.

Executive and corporate directors

Ruth Hill, Chief Operating Officer

Ruth has over 25 years’ experience in the NHS and local government, including her role as director of operations in York and Selby at the Trust. Ruth has also worked in commissioning, quality improvement, public health and service development in a number of roles across the North East.

Dr Ahmad Khouja, Medical Director

Ahmad is a practicing consultant psychiatrist in Forensic Learning Disabilities. He was appointed Medical Director in March 2018; prior to this he was the Deputy Medical Director and Senior Clinical Director for the Forensic Service. He has a research degree in Molecular Medicine from Oxford University.  He was a former Training Programme Director for Higher Trainees in the Psychiatry of Learning Disability. He is a Certified Leader for the Trust’s Quality Improvement System and a Master Coach. He has led on recovery and harm minimisation for the Trust.

Mr David Levy, Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development

David is a graduate and member of Institute of Personnel and Development. He has worked in the NHS since 1991 at City Hospitals Sunderland Trust, North Tees and Hartlepool Trust, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals Foundation Trust and latterly the North East Strategic Health Authority. David is also an NHS Employers Assembly representative.

Drew Kendall, Interim Director of Finance

Drew has extensive financial experience having worked in NHS Acute and Mental Health services for over 30 years and has been the Associate Director of Finance with TEWW since 2009. He is a member of the National HFMA (Healthcare Financial Management Association) Mental Health Faculty and also a Board Member of the AuditOne NHS Audit consortium.

Mrs Sharon Pickering, Director of Planning and Performance

Sharon  joined the NHS in 1989 on the then Regional Financial Management Training Scheme. In 1996, moved to the North East and into a planning / commissioning role. Sharon joined one of the predecessor organisations, County Durham and Darlington Priority Services NHS Trust, in 2000 as head of planning and has been with the trust ever since.

Elizabeth Moody, Director of Nursing and Governance

Elizabeth was delighted to join the Trust in July 2015 as Director of Nursing and Governance. She has over 25 years’ experience in the NHS having registered as an RMN in 1991. Elizabeth has held a variety of clinical, professional and managerial roles across inpatient and community settings and before joining the Trust worked in the region as the Deputy Director of Nursing and then Group Nurse Director for 11 years. She is now the Deputy Chief Executive of the Trust.Elizabeth is responsible at Board level for the professional leadership of nursing, quality and safety. She is a Certified Leader and Think On coach.

Non-executive directors

Dr. Hugh Griffiths Non-Executive Director, Deputy Chairman of the Trust and Chairman of the Quality Assurance Committee

Hugh was a consultant psychiatrist from 1988 and for eight years was an NHS trust medical director. In 2000 he also became medical director of the Northern Centre for Mental Health. He was director of policy and knowledge management for the NHS Clinical Governance Support Team in 2003/2004 and from then until 2010 was deputy national clinical director for Mental Health (England) at the Department of Health. Thereafter he was the National Clinical Director for Mental Health (England), leading the development of the Government’s mental health strategy ‘No Health Without Mental Health’. He retired in March 2013.

Prof. Pali Hungin, Non-Executive Director

Pali, a GP by background, qualified at Newcastle University and practiced in the Stockton area for 25 years. He was the Founding Dean of Medicine and the Head of the School of Medicine, Pharmacy and Health at Durham University from 2003 to 2014 and the President of the British Medical Association in 2017.  He is currently Emeritus Professor at the Institute of Health and Society in the Faculty of Medical Sciences at Newcastle University. Pali served as a Governor of TEWV from its inception as a foundation trust, to 2016. He is presently leads the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges’ commission on impending developments in healthcare and the evolving role of clinicians. He also works with Genome England and is the Trustee Treasurer of the Royal Medical Benevolent Fund.

John Maddison, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee

John joined the Trust as an Associate Non-Executive Director on 1st January 2020 as part of the Trust’s succession planning arrangements. He retired in June 2019 after working in the NHS for 37 years. He studied Economics and Accountancy at Loughborough University and joined the NHS as a graduate trainee accountant in Yorkshire. The majority of John’s career was based in the North East working in Finance, primarily in the acute sector and senior positions at the strategic tier including NHS England.

Paul Murphy, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Resources Committee

Paul has had a broad range of experiences at a senior level in public and private (not-for-profit) sectors, as well as central and local government, including spells as a ministerial private secretary and an assistant director at City of York Council.  He is now a freelance consultant, with an interest in particular in mental health, wellbeing, and in services for children and young people.

Bev Reilly, Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Mental Health Committee

Bev has been a Nurse for 32 years. Up until recently, Bev was the Director of Nursing and Quality for NHS England covering Cumbria and the North East.  Her long career has spanned a number of organisations across acute, primary and community care settings at a local, regional and national level.  She is experienced in quality assurance and regulatory requirements having led on this as part of her role within NHS England and close working with NHS Improvement and the Care Quality Commission.

Shirley Richardson, Non-Executive Director, Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the West Lane Project Committee

Shirley was the Board Nurse Director at Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust for 17 years prior to her retirement in 2010.

She is a registered nurse and has leadership experience in acute, elderly, mental health, learning disability and paediatrics, across both hospital and community.

Since 2011 she has been chairman of Carers Together Foundation, a charity providing information, advice and support to carers in Middlesbrough, Redcar and East Cleveland.